midnight lullaby

I hear you coughing in the next room over, restless
unable to sleep
and I wonder when you will shine
when that time for you will come
to be the solo spotlight

You’re traveling the West
seeing the Coast and all its wonders
and I wonder if this is the time you
become the new star wonder

Lying awake, I fall asleep singing
You’re the lyrics that motivate me to keep smiling
You’re my stars at twilight
The ones I wish for every night
to keep shining bright
even when the world wants to dim your shine

And with One who made us a trio, we–
can out shine the worst of what we face
So keep your heads up
Keep the smiles coming
Sleep peaceful and don’t worry
just keep shining.

Leave a Reply

