It’s grocery time!

All right, so I finally got my paycheck in the mail. It arrived yesterday, my birthday! What a wonderful present, right? I thought so.
Anyway, that now means I get to do one of my favorite things: grocery shopping! I know, I know– the moment you read that you began to think “she’s insane! Who likes grocery shopping?” and it’s true– my mother thinks I’m crazy too. So don’t worry, I’m not going to judge you if you hate grocery shopping. I admit, it can be very stressful.

But lately, I’ve been changing the way I look at the chore. I’ve decided to make it a challenge! Here are my 2011 goals for grocery shopping:
1. Set aside time. I always end up going to the store every day it seems– or just by chance on the weekends. I find myself unprepared and getting things I don’t really need, therefore, I end up spending more money when I go back again for what I do need. I’m going to find a day/time that works best and try to stick to it. I’ve noticed Costco is less crowded during evenings during the work week, rather than 10 a.m. on Saturday morning. I shop faster and can get what I need without feeling stressed.
2. Make a list. I love lists! I make them for nearly everything I do, especially “to do” lists. If you make a list of the week’s meals before you go to the store, this will not only allow you to enjoy your shopping experience, but probably save money and you’ll know exactly what you need! I hate going to the store for a recipe or series of meals and forgetting one item.
3. Don’t go to the store when starving. I have committed this so many times– and I know you have too! And when I get home I notice, yet again, that I’ve spent extra money on junk food– and not what I needed! I’m going to start packing myself snacks (like homemade granola with dried fruit and nuts) to keep in my purse in case I get hungry. That way, I’ll have a quick “pick me up” before I walk in!
4. Fruits, Veggies, Bulk. Buy in season fruits and veggies– they’ll taste better and they’re cheaper. The produce section is my favorite part of the grocery store! It’s so colorful, and sometimes, I even go overboard in wanting to buy everything in the section!
I’m planning on buying in bulk grains, nuts, and canned goods, like tomatoes. I also look for these things when they are on sale. For example, Anthony noticed canned tomatoes at Whole Foods were on sale cheaper than they would be, say, at Walmart. He bought 8 cans! Yum!

And for now, that’s all I can think of. I’d love to hear about your grocery shopping tips, experiences, etc. Let’s go have some fun!

Leave a Reply

