A Little Valentine Magic

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!
Whether you are single or have someone, all I need to tell you is that while I am thankful for the roses and candy from my boyfriend this morning– loving who you are and buying yourself flowers and candy is perfectly acceptable. In fact, why don’t we do it more often? Why don’t we treat ourselves? I see nothing wrong with that, and I’ll tell you why.

Anthony is the only boyfriend I’ve ever had. Until we met, I spent Valentine’s Day alone, watching my friends get candy, cards and flowers, while I got, well, nothing. I spent many a Valentine’s Day in school– which was sometimes worse. Remember those candy grams? Never got one of those. Singing grams? I don’t remember how many times I had to go and sing “My Girl,” or “My Boy” to someone. Yeah, I hated Valentine’s Day.

But one day, I just gave up. I didn’t care anymore– I’d buy myself candy and flowers and be my own Valentine. I decided to love being with myself. And when we finally met– I was confident in who I was, where I was going, and just what our relationship would be like. I took the time to understand that if we were ever to break up, I’d still be able to keep going– I’d still be able to be me. And that our relationship is only part of who we are, not all.

And there is nothing wrong with that. And you know why?
Because I believe that until you can love yourself– you can’t really give love away. If you love yourself, you know that having someone in your life is simply because you want them to be there, want to share your life with them– and not because you need them to feel secure, or whatever reason you may have.

And remember, Valentine’s Day, like many other holidays, has received the commercialized treatment. I think one of the best ideas I’ve heard today comes from ohsheglows.com where she encourages each one of us to write a love letter to ourselves, and read it each year. I think it’s an amazing idea– and I’m definitely going to be writing one later.

I want you all to know you are brilliant, beautiful, unique individuals who deserve the best in life. I want you to love yourself, be confident in yourself, and express yourself. And when he or she comes along, I want them to love you the way you deserve. Because you’re worth it. Always.

Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

