Positive Thinking and Winter Storms

Hello lovely people! I hope you all are enjoying your Friday night:) A winter storm came in today, so it’s snowing! I apologize for the lack in posting, once again.

It’s been a stressful week. I’m exhausted and didn’t have the energy to make a delicious dinner– so we had frozen pizza instead, which I had over a bed of mixed green salad.

Despite my stressful week, I want to take the moment to mention how wonderful my family is. They are so supportive and uplifting– their encouraging words are so appreciated and sometimes unexpected. I hope that each of you have someone in your life who makes you feel this way– that no matter what you do, you are never a failure in their eyes.

Which puts a smile on my face, especially after the show I watched tonight.

Another thing that put a smile on my face was a video a friend of mine showed me this week, from Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point. You may know her from her Operation Beautiful campaign. This video, with a cover of Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way,” shows hundreds of different Post-it notes with positive messages about beauty. It is so nice and refreshing to see such a wonderful campaign.

I’ve noticed that when I get stressed, I immediately go into negative thinking about my body and personality. This video, and the Operation Beautiful campaign, is a wonderful reminder that I am beautiful, no matter what.

We need to unravel negativity surrounding beauty and create a positive attitude toward our bodies. I believe in a healthy lifestyle, with healthy and positive thinking, eating, and treating our bodies. And though I falter every day– and then spend time saying negative things to myself, I should be should be lifting myself up instead of tearing myself down.

I’m working on a positive thinking list. I found on ohsheglows.com, another inspiring blog I read, a post about how she would change around negative thoughts into positive and encouraging thoughts.

A few of my own:
Negative: My hair is so flat and dingy looking.
Positive : My hair is such a vibrant red and looks gorgeous without the flat iron or hairspray.

Negative: My legs are too short.
Positive: My legs are powerful, giving me the strength to go on long walks:)

Now, these might sound silly, but remember, laughter is good for the soul too! And once you get going, don’t stop the positive thinking, even if you think it is silly!

I’d love to hear about how you have overcome your own personal body images and how you’ve been trying to think more positively. Who have been some of your inspirations for positive thinking?

Send me an email at WritingLoveMagic@gmail.com or comment here to share– I’d love to hear from you!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

