Vegetable Soup with Sourdough Irish Cheddar Toasts

Happy Wednesday! Spring finally arrived– today it was around 70 degrees! My boyfriend and I went for a walk down by the river today. Even though I adore cloudy days, it felt so nice to have the sun shining.

This morning, I wanted to make dinner ahead of time– especially since it was nice outside. And the best part is, I had everything on hand except for the sourdough baguette and Irish cheddar. So, before I had my morning cup of coffee, I had dinner in my Crockpot, cooking away. 🙂

I love Crockpots– they are so great for quick and easy meals!

Anyway, on to the recipe! This recipe makes a full Crockpot full of soup, so if you want to make less– halve the recipe.

Vegetable Soup with Sourdough Irish Cheddar Toasts
2 stalks celery, chopped
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
½ medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
4 medium potatoes, chopped
1 14 ounce can corn
1 15 ounce can garbanzo beans
3 cups vegetable stock
2 cups water
1 6 ounce can tomato paste
1 cup frozen spinach
1 tsp(or more, if needed) each: oregano, chili powder, cumin, basil, parsley and thyme
Salt and pepper to taste

Add all ingredients to Crockpot and set on high for 6 hours.

For Baguette Toasts:
1 sourdough baguette
Cheese of choice (I used Irish Cheddar), sliced
2 tsp olive oil

Turn on the broiler.
Slice 6 slices of baguette, lightly brush on olive oil. Top with the sliced cheese. Place under broiler for 1 minute. Keep careful watch for browning. Take out when toast is browned slightly, and cheese is slightly melting.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

