Spring Cleaning

Here's a picture taken by Anthony on a hiking trip on vacation in California 6 years ago. So pretty!

I don’t know if anyone else felt the same way– but last night, I could not sleep.

I’d had a migraine all day, it had been raining all afternoon and into the night, and it just felt like an “off” kind of day. Don’t you hate those?

I found myself unmotivated to do the list of things I had planned, so around 9 p.m., after a lovely dinner of frozen pizza, I went “to bed.”

Well, I read for two hours, and finding myself still struggling to sleep at midnight, I went outside to take in the fresh midnight air.

To make a long story short, I fell asleep sometime around 2:30 a.m.

When I woke up at 9:30 a.m., I felt terrible. I had tossed and turned during those few short hours of sleep and had managed to wake up nearly every hour before falling back into a dream-filled sleep.

So, finding myself not wanting to go back to sleep this morning, I got out of bed and went directly for the coffee pot. I decided to go for double-strength.
Coffee now brewing, I took the quiet of the morning to do 15 minutes of yoga/stretching. My headache, still lingering as I woke up, started to subside.

I ended my series of stretches and poses with the cobbler, or bound angle (or Baddha Konasana) pose. I closed my eyes and began to pray and let my mind rest, when a phrase lingered into the forefront of my resting mind: “everything has its place.” I found myself repeating it over and over, and so, I made it the motto for my day.

So what is my to-do list for my “everything has its place” spring cleaning day?

I started with the instrument I use for work: my computer.

So far I have gone through and organized all my documents into folders on my desktop, cleaned out two of my email accounts, and taking a quick break to write this post before beginning on the email account I use everyday.

I love the feeling I get when I’m organizing and cleaning. Yes, there might just be something wrong with me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

After that, I plan on doing some more housekeeping– cleaning the kitchen, organizing the pantry, cleaning out the fridge, doing laundry, and, most important, decluttering. Everything has its place.

Oh, and I might make some of these vegan chocolate chip banana cookies that I was going to make last night. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Sunday!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

