Baking Frenzy

Summer, or spring, has finally us here in Reno– I have all the windows, including our back door, wide open. I woke up early at 8 .am., which is not the norm on the weekends (it happens to be 10 a.m. or even 11). The high for today says 76!

Boy, was I in a baking frenzy this week! I made my first batch of baked doughnuts, vegan cupcakes, chocolate banana muffins and then these amazing cinnamon buns. I’ve discovered a way of keeping all these treats from getting the best of me: I’ve placed them in the freezer!

Also this week I tried almond milk for the first time, and loved it! I’m not the biggest fan of milk, and I’ve tried soy milk and haven’t ever really liked it. I enjoy soy milk iced coffee, but that’s about it.

I tried the sweetened vanilla almond milk– and I think I could see myself sitting down with a glass of the stuff, it was so good!

Now back to those cinnamon buns…

So, as I was up early I:
– cleaned the kitchen
– washed dishes
– put away baked goods into freezer
– put on a pot of coffee

and then I:
– made these cinnamon buns

With the cool morning air drifting in through the windows, I enjoyed my time alone in the kitchen. I realize now that wandering out into the kitchen to bake after first waking up causes me to be quite the klutz.

However, the cinnamon buns were not harmed. They turned out beautifully!

These cinnamon buns were different than those my mom or I have made before: they were made of half white/whole wheat flour and a spice mixture of ginger,nutmeg and cinnamon.

I used some leftover cinnamon buttercream frosting from earlier this week to make the cinnamon buns perfect. I thinned out the frosting by adding a teaspoon of almond milk and heating the frosting in the microwave for 15 seconds. Mmm:)

Believe me, you will love these guys! I followed the recipe and made smaller ones instead of making full-size, and I’ve only eaten one so far;)

I can’t believe it’s almost mid-June! What exciting summer plans do you have?

Leave a Reply

