Watching The Sun Rise

I woke up bright and early this morning around 3 a.m. to get ready for the Great Reno Balloon Races. I packed my coat, blankets and a big cup of coffee as we set off.

We had the perfect spot down on the field– and as I watched the Dawn Patrol ( a group of pilots who are licensed to fly a hot air balloon at night) rise into the sky, I thought, “for the moment, all is right.”

On the horizon, I noticed the pinkish glow of the sun as it began to rise.

I never see this enough. Even though I was exhausted after having only two hours of sleep, I watched as the sun rose behind the few clouds scattered in the sky, giving light to the few Dawn Patrol balloons that were still flying.

I lay back and took in the moment: I was with my friends and my family. I was watching a new day begin.

Afterward, I enjoyed some coffeecake and a cup of hot chocolate, and watched a new Darth Vader balloon lift off, along with other, more traditional, balloons.

I’ve been to this event before, but what a wonderful day it was.

What made you smile today?

Happy Saturday!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

