What I’m Reading: Summer Edition

I recently saw this link on Facebook from Oprah.com about books that help when you can’t seem to fall asleep. The question, prompted by Random House, Inc., was: What book do you turn to when you can’t fall asleep?

This prompted me to write about what I’ve been reading. I tried writing it as a status update, but decided it would make a great blog post.

I tend to read a few books at one time, depending on my mood. Are you a similar reader?

The only book I’ve read on Oprah’s list was “The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted,” by Elizabeth Berg. I saw it in the store, read the first page, and fell in love. I brought it home and devoured the entire thing that night before going to bed.

In case you’re looking for great summer books to read, or, like the article suggests, books to help you fall asleep (and mind you, not because they’re boring- but because they’re relaxing), here are a few I suggest:

The book I turn to when I can’t sleep is “The Undomestic Goddess,” by Sophie Kinsella. I’ve read this novel about twenty times, and each time it gets better. To be very general, it’s about a hardworking, twenties-something woman who finds herself out in the English countryside after discovering a major error in her work. She takes a job as a maid, and if you’re familiar with Kinsella’s work, you know that’s not the end of it. Through several twists and outrageous yet relatable situations, this is a great story to help relax your mind and peacefully fall asleep. Unless, that is, you read the whole thing in one sitting and get no sleep at all.

Another great book is “The Art of Eating In,” by Cathy Erway. After deciding not to eat out in New York any longer, Erway writes about the blog that inspired the book, and all the events that unfolded during the two-year period. She writes about a variety of things, including freeganism and community dinners, along with all her “encounters” with the stove.

By my bedside right now is: “The Night Circus,” by Erin Morgenstern; “Woe is I,” by Patricia T. O’Conner; “Notes from a Small Island,” by Bill Bryson; and “The Grammar Devotional,” by Mignon Fogarty (aka Grammar Girl).

(Side note: If you click on the author names with links- it takes you to their Twitter profile.)

What are you reading? Which book do you turn to when you can’t sleep?

Have a great Tuesday!

~Ashley

3 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Summer Edition

  1. Ashley says:

    I always read more than one book at once too! I need to get caught up on the books I’ve started… I’ve heard good things about The Art of Eating In.

    • Ashley says:

      It’s really great. Each chapter is something new– she has one all about the “no knead” bread recipe, another about freeganism, and others about supper clubs and community dinners. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

