Small Kitchen Cooking: Scones

I made a batch of cranberry scones, using this recipe from the cookbook, Sundays at Moosewood, for brunch this morning.

The pictures didn’t do the scones any justice, so I didn’t want to share them. So, you will have to rely on my saying that these scones are by far my favorite.

The scones recipe is incredibly versatile as well. I have made pumpkin spice scones, raisin scones, and golden raisin scones. (If you make golden raisin scones, stay by the oven. The time I made them, they burned. Burned golden raisins are not good. At all.)

On my list of scones to try are chocolate chip scones and lemon scones.

Here are my additions:
– Substitute the fruit measurement for dried cranberries. The dried cranberries make the scones burst with a sweet tartness and also make the scones less dry. I prefer them this way.

– Make sure to sprinkle sugar on top for an added bit of sweetness. I used raw sugar.

– Make sure to put a glob of butter and orange marmalade on top. Perfect for a Sunday morning. (Or, any morning.)

Yum. 🙂

What is your favorite breakfast pastry?

Have a great Sunday night!

Leave a Reply

