Pasta with Arugula, Tomatoes, and Parmesan Cheese

“Julia Child wasn’t always Julia Child.” — from the movie, “Julie and Julia.”

When I first started to cook, I followed recipes completely, for fear that if I didn’t the final product would fall apart.

When I started creating recipes, I was still afraid to show them off, for lack of confidence.

A few nights ago, I had a vague idea of what I wanted. I knew I wanted pasta, and I knew I wanted breadsticks made from scratch.

Here’s what the boyfriend and I came up with:

(I don’t think the picture does the dish justice but I thought I’d at least show you what it ended up looking like.)

Here’s the recipe:

Pasta with Arugula, Tomatoes, and Parmesan cheese

Prep: about 15 minutes
Cooking: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

Spaghetti
4 garlic cloves
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 to 3 cups arugula
20 cherry tomatoes (we used yellow and red)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
red pepper flakes
salt
pepper

1. Cook pasta according to package directions. (Or, if you’re like Mario Batali, one minute less than the box says.)
2. In a medium or large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and cook until garlic just begins to brown (about 1 to two minutes).
3. Add arugula to garlic and olive oil. Mix and let wilt.
4. Add tomatoes to arugula, garlic, and olive oil mix. Cook until heated through.
5. Toss pasta and Parmesan cheese with arugula mix. Season with black pepper, salt, and red pepper flakes.
6. Serve immediately.

And remember, it’s never too late to become passionate about something. I never thought I’d love to cook, or share recipes.

Enjoy!

Ashley

2 thoughts on “Pasta with Arugula, Tomatoes, and Parmesan Cheese

    • Ashley says:

      Oh that sounds great! Last year for Christmas, I made a version of the Italian sausage soup from Olive Garden with kale in it. It was so good! I love how kale can hold up a crunch.

Leave a Reply

