Catching Up: Poetry Challenge, Days 20-23

#20
Clementine was young, vibrant, and vulnerable
yet apparently, replaceable but
one night she decided to make her world
technicolor

Sweet and plump nothing ever phased her
until they phased her out but still
she waited,
brilliant and cold
capable of holding her own

But eventually, her world turned winter white
an ice queen, waiting, and then
the snow began to fall
snowing every day till there was no technicolor left

But still Clementine danced under the falling dust,
she lay in the powder and watched the snowflakes fall,
kissing her forehead, nose, and cheeks
later that night, she stared out the
frosted windowpanes, waiting

The next day roses appeared
and everyday after that
a blanket of thorns, a vision of red
pure and seductive, she realized
someone noticed
someone else was watching
and waiting, too.

#21
Doe eyes and precious she needed protection
or so her daddy thought, until her fairytale world
came crashing down in flames and she had to become
the protector of her heart

#22
Nevermind the raisins but my baby never enjoyed raspberries
the older she got the more I wondered why she didn’t like
anything she had before
on her fourth birthday, the number I hated,
I watched her cut off all her hair
and cry because she felt so wild

oh changeling
you’re still mine
oh changeling
we can make this work, can’t we?
oh changeling,
where has my other baby gone?

You love to sing, and dance, and tell me stories
I wonder if she would too
You say there’s nothing you can do
you really hate school
I wonder if she would too
Do you ever talk to her
tell her the secrets you know
that she should too?

oh changeling
you’re still mine
oh changeling
we can make this work, can’t we?
oh changeling,
where has my other baby gone?

#23
No!
“Nothing you can do will ever make me
wish away the stars or cast out all the
secrets my pinky finger has promised to keep
you can try, oh try, I dare you, but I’ve built
a wall
with no cracks,
I’m sure of it.”

Leave a Reply

