Daily Discovery: My Playlist

Hi everyone! It’s been awhile since my last post, and while it’s not really a Daily Discovery, I thought I’d share a few songs that have been on my playlist. I work from home, so I go through quite a bit of music during the day. (I’m always looking for new music. If you have any ideas, share in the comments below.)

Here’s what I can’t get enough of:

This Kiss, Carly Rae Jepsen
Hurt So Good, Carly Rae Jepsen
Parking Lot, Nelly Furtado
From This Valley, The Civil Wars
Ready or Not, Bridget Mendler
Song Away, Hockey
Some Nights, Fun
Are You Satisfied?, Marina and the Diamonds
One Thing, One Direction
We Are Never Getting Back Together, Taylor Swift
She Wolf, Shakira

When I’m working, I love music with a happy and upbeat feel to it to keep my mood up. It also keeps me feeling energized. I’ve also noticed that in the summer, I’m in the mood for music with a catchy beat and lighter lyrics, if that makes sense. Carefree and energizing, happy and (though I’m not a huge fan of the heat and the sun) would be perfect for a day at the beach.

Here are a few albums I’m excited for:

Christmas in the Sun, Colbie Caillat
Babel, Mumford and Sons
Red, Taylor Swift
ARTPOP, Lady Gaga
Anything by The Civil Wars

Christmas in the Sun was just announced, and I love Colbie’s idea behind the album: what about people who, around the holidays, don’t get snow? I completely understood when I read this, because I where I grew up, I remember it snowing maybe twice while I lived there before moving north for college. And only once was the snow actually falling on Christmas day (and it didn’t stick around). I love this idea for a holiday album and I cannot wait.

I fell in love with Mumford and Sons sometime last year. I can’t remember. But I love their music, and I love how their songs are inspired by literature.

I’ve never been Taylor’s biggest fan but I do enjoy her music. But with the release of We Are Never Getting Back Together I’m interested in her pop sound, and looking forward to seeing if she continues it or if the rest of her music will still have a little country in it.

I’ve been a fan of Lady Gaga since The Fame Monster, and am highly anticipating what she’ll do with her upcoming album.

And last but not least, I could go on for days about how much I love The Civil Wars, but then this post will be even longer than it already is. But if you haven’t listened to their album or any of their music yet, please add them to your playlist. I will say though that their album, Barton Hollow, is perfect. Completely perfect. And that’s all I’m going to say. 😉

What music has been on repeat for you lately?

Leave a Reply

