Beautiful You: Underreacting to Problems (Stress Tip)

Hi everyone! Tonight I wanted to share a stress tip I read last week over at Vitamin G, Glamour magazine’s health and fitness blog.

In the post, happiness expert Gretchen Rubin shares this tip (you can read the entire post here):

“I adopted one of my favorite happiness boosters from a resolution suggested by a reader who wrote from a research ship in Antarctica,” Rubin writes. “Her team leader, she reported, had urged them to ‘Underreact to problems’: not to ignore or minimize problems, but just to underreact to them. By underreacting to problems, and acting in a serene and unflappable way, I’d help myself cultivate a calm attitude. I also found that underreacting to little household incidents made them less irritating, because after all, they were only as annoying as I allowed them to be.”

I love this idea. When you underreact, you give yourself the freedom to relax and see the problem with clarity. I have tried this since I read it, and it has helped. Do you think you’d benefit from trying to underreact to problems?

Have a great evening! I hope you’ve had a wonderful start to the fall season. 🙂

Ashley

Leave a Reply

