Beautiful You: Facing Fear

What is fear, and how do you face it? I came across this article while reading Self magazine about two weeks ago, and wanted to share two of the tips, which can be found here.

Fear is defined as “a reason for dread or apprehension,” among other things, according to the American Heritage Dictionary. By dreading something, whether it be an event or confrontation with someone, you might begin to feel anxiety and want to make a run for it. But wait! Don’t run yet. Wait a minute.

I’ve felt this way before, especially back in college right before a big test. My weakness was math, and I was always afraid of taking math tests. On math test day, I’d be on edge. I wouldn’t sleep well the night before. I was scared.

But one day, I gave in. I admitted that I’d been doing my best and whatever outcome would be OK with me because I couldn’t handle the fear holding me back anymore. I admitted to myself that I was scared and then worked my way through the fear to the other side. And even though I didn’t do as well as I’d hoped every time, I’d felt proud because I’d conquered my fear.

One more tip that isn’t on here that I wish was is to change your perspective. Last year, when I was reading “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff” one of the tips included in the book was to imagine that all the people and events stressing you out were trying to teach you something. By changing your perspective and opening your mind to consider that these people and events are trying to teach you something, you might find yourself less scared to face them.

To sum up, remember that when facing your fears to: change your perspective, remember that being scared is OK and the anticipation will be the worst part.

What other tips have you been taught, given, or created yourself to help face your fears? I’d love it if you shared in the comments below. Have a great night!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

