Small Kitchen Cooking (SKC) How-To: Iced Hazelnut Mocha

Hi, everyone! I’m starting a new series for my recipes called “Small Kitchen Cooking,” (for short, “SKC”) and I thought the perfect way to start it off would be with one of my favorite things in the entire world, coffee.

Now, I do believe that a great cup of coffee from a coffee shop is worth it. But we don’t want to do that everyday, and when you find out how easy it is to replicate those drinks at home, why not try it?

And believe me, this hazelnut mocha is easy-peasy.

Iced Hazelnut Mocha

Ingredients:
1/2 cup strong coffee or 1/2 cup regular coffee (see note below)*
2 ice cubes (see note below)
1 tablespoon hazelnut syrup (you can find these in the coffee aisle at your local grocery store)
1 tablespoon chocolate syrup
1/2 milk of choice (I use 1%)
Container with an air-tight lid

Directions:

1. Pour coffee into a coffee mug. Add ice. Set aside.
2. In the container, add in the hazelnut and chocolate syrups, along with milk.
3. Pour the coffee into the container.
4. Put on the lid, and shake. Shake, shake, shake! (For about 20 seconds.)
5. Pour into tall chilled glass.**
6. If you’re feeling particularly springy or summery, use a straw with an umbrella. Enjoy! 🙂

Notes:
*To make the strong coffee, here’s how I do it with my basic 12-cup coffee maker: Fill water up to the four-cup line. I add one scoop of coffee (I use a 1/4 cup) per two cups. For strong coffee however, you’ll need to add two scoops per two cups. This means for four cups of coffee, you’ll need four scoops. This is optional. The strong coffee will give the drink a stronger flavor.

** Tip for chilling the glass: place two ice cubes into the glass you plan on using for the drink. Remove ice before pouring in coffee.

I hope you enjoy this and try playing around with it too! Tell me what kind of iced drinks that you like to order in coffee shops, but would like to make at home (or have made at home). I’d love to know! Also, if you’re a tea drinker, try out this iced green tea with apple juice recipe.

Happy Monday!

~Ashley

One thought on “Small Kitchen Cooking (SKC) How-To: Iced Hazelnut Mocha

Leave a Reply

