Recipe: Strawberry Blueberry Trifle

I woke up on Independence Day wanting to make a dessert. I always try to prepare for making holiday-themed things, but I always seem to want to make them last minute. So, I went to search for a quick and easy dessert to make.

I came across the trifle, and will you believe me if I say I’ve never had one? It looked easy and delicious, so there we go. Anyway, after a trip to the store, I came home and went to work. I had bought boxed pudding yes, but I wasn’t about to buy whipped cream. (Believe me, if you’ve never had homemade whipped cream, you’re missing out. It’s super easy: 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 3 tablespoons powdered sugar, splash of vanilla. Whisk by hand or with a mixer until whipped-cream like. Sorry for the lack of technical terms. It looks glossy, and will make soft peaks when you lift out the whisk from the bowl. A soft peak looks similar to the top of an ice cream cone, how it tips over slightly.)

My version of the trifle varies from the ones I found because I used vanilla wafers instead of poundcake or angel food cake. I figured since it was going to sit in the fridge for a couple of hours, the wafers would soften to a cake-like consistency (which it did).

My guinea pigs for this recipe were my boyfriend and my baby sister. Though really, who wouldn’t want to be a guinea pig for a dessert recipe?

They loved it! Surprised? 😉

My baby sister loved it so much she requested I make it again. I didn’t have any boxed pudding, so I decided to make it on my own. Big mistake. It never set! Thinking back, it was probably my fault.

But again, my boyfriend and my baby sister both loved it.

On to the recipe!

Easy Strawberry Blueberry Trifle

1/2 box vanilla wafers
1 box instant pudding mix
1 recipe homemade whipped cream ( or store bought; see second paragraph above for recipe)
12 strawberries
1 cup blueberries

1. Make whipped cream, and place in fridge to sit for at least 2 hours.
2. Follow directions for instant pudding. Set in fridge.
3. After two hours, take out whipped cream and pudding.
4. To layer: take out a medium-sized serving bowl (or large glass trifle serving bowl). Place about 6 wafers (or however much you want) on the bottom, then layer with pudding, whipped cream, and fruit. Add more wafers, and continue layering until you reach the top of the bowl. Cover in plastic wrap and set aside.
5. Then sit down and try not to eat all of it. 🙂

There you go sis:)

And soon, I really want to try homemade tiramisu. Who’s with me? 🙂

Ashley

Leave a Reply

