Greek Pizza

On Friday evening I had a craving for pizza, but not just any pizza: a Greek pizza.

I looked up the menu to a restaurant where I’ve had a Greek pizza once or twice, and then decided to save my money and make my own.

I already had feta cheese and pepperoncini peppers in the fridge, so I went off to the store to find sundried tomatoes, kalamata olives, basil pesto, and since it was too late to make my favorite pizza dough (recipe here) I decided to try my first store-bought fresh pizza dough. (By the way, Raley’s pizza dough is delicious, and cheap.)

This pizza was delicious. I’m sorry if I can’t describe it any better than that, but every ingredient melted together perfectly. Except, of course, for the burned olives. Thankfully, we couldn’t even tell they were burned.

On to the recipe!
pizza

Greek Pizza
1 recipe pizza dough or store bought fresh pizza dough ( I bought mine at Raley’s, but I’ve heard Whole Foods’ is great, and I think Trader Joe’s has one too?)
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
3 cloves garlic, chopped
basil pesto (about 4 tablespoons)
mozzarella cheese ( about 1/4 cup)
1/4 cup sundried tomatoes (either canned or the dried, bagged kind, which is what I had)
Pepperocini peppers (I had canned and sliced in my fridge)
Kalamata olives (I bought the pitted, sliced kind)
feta cheese ( about 2 tablespoons)
Parmesan cheese (about 2 tablespoons)

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2.. Place oil in skillet over medium heat. Wait about a minute or so until oil is hot, then place garlic in the pan and cook for about a minute, just as it’s beginning to brown. Remove from heat and set aside.
3. Follow directions for pizza dough. Once you have the dough rolled and in the pan, spread on the basil pesto. Sprinkle mozzarella, then top with veggies and garlic. Sprinkle on the feta and Parmesan cheeses, then bake in the oven for about 8 to 9 minutes.*

*CAUTION: I would check on these throughout the cooking period. As you’ll see from the photograph, we left ours in for a minute too long and some of the olives burned. To avoid this, check on the pizza about 4 minutes into cooking and again at 8 minutes.

CHANGES:

This pizza was amazing but had very bold flavors. The peso seemed to be a bit much, so next time I’d try to find a jarred pesto made with spinach and with less basil.

Also, I think I’d skip the mozzarella cheese. Not because it wasn’t delicious; it just didn’t need the extra cheese.

What are you favorite pizza toppings?

Ashley

Leave a Reply

