Beautiful You: Alternate Nostril Breathing

Don’t be alarmed by the name. It’s this wonderful breathing technique I first heard about from Tara Stiles in her book, “Yoga Cures.” She lists it under the section for anxiety, and it’s so good for when you just need to take a breather or unwind from a stressful situation.

Since I just finished doing this a few times a few moments ago, I realized I hadn’t shared with all of you yet!

I like to practice alternate nostril breathing in the morning, sometimes in the afternoon, and before bed. It’s amazing how great I feel afterward.

Here’s the video tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XxpIXX1dQDo

Connecting with your breath might sound a little crazy, but it’s definitely helped me move from a stressful to a much more calm state.

Side note: My thoughts and prayers go out to those who have been affected by Typhoon Haiyan. One of the best ways to help yourself when you’re in a stressed state is to take the focus off yourself and help someone else. (I love this. What a wonderful perspective.) To help relief efforts, here’s a collection of places where you can help: http://www.pbs.org/newshour/rundown/2013/11/how-to-help-the-typhoon-relief-efforts.html

Leave a Reply

