Beautiful You: Ways to Ease Anxiety and Help Sleeplessness

Happy Thursday everyone! As promised, I want to share a few tips and tricks that I’ve played around with and that work for me to help ease anxiety and help sleeplessness. (Though I am sorry this wasn’t up on Monday.)

First, a disclaimer: I’m not a doctor. These are non-medical opinions and tips that have worked for me to ease my anxiety, panic attacks, and sleeplessness.

1. Supplements. Every day I try to take passionflower (calms the nervous system), and Vitamin B Complex (balances moods, gives you energy, etc.).

2. Prayer, devotional, and journaling. This works for all hours of the day, but I like to do it morning and night. Take a moment, it doesn’t have to be long, to write down the things that are making you anxious or unable to sleep, or just say them out loud. And I mean everything. Even the things you may consider silly, not really a problem, etc. If you keep those thoughts in your head, they will continue to only grow bigger and more scary, causing more anxiety. Release them through prayer and meditation or through writing. Be as specific as you can. God will hear you.
Read some of your favorite quotes, passage from a book, Scripture, etc. Read something that connects you to God. Read something that just makes your relax.

3. Move. I practice yoga for calming my mind, and I recently bought a mini trampoline to help get some cardio in throughout my day. Jumping on the trampoline also helps clear my mind, get my heart pumping, and energy levels up. Do something that can get you to clear your mind and tire your body out. I like to choose a time when my anxiousness sometimes feels the highest (usually around that 3 p.m. slump)

4. Avoid Caffeine. I hated to admit this to myself, but caffeine really increases my anxiety, especially in the morning. It’s not that I’ve had to say goodbye to my cup of Joe, oh no. It means that I’ve become mindful of the days when I need to avoid it. When I wake up calm and relaxed, I may enjoy a cup. But not everyday. Try to avoid things with caffeine, because it will increase your anxiety and it can create sleeplessness.

5. Shower or take a bath. This is relatively new to me, but it’s a great way to calm the mind and ease the body into a restful night’s sleep. I’ve been taking a quick shower at night. It helps clear my mind and by rinsing off I feel I’m washing off the day I’ve had and clearing my mind for a good night’s rest.

. Drink Tea. Though this can be done throughout the day, drinking chamomille, lavender, or peppermint tea has greatly helped with me getting a good night’s rest. I like to drink these calming teas whenever I feel sleepless or anxious. DO you ever feel nauseous because of anxiety or lack of sleep? Ginger is a miracle worker.
In fact, I’d go so far as to say that drinking any decaffeinated tea that you really, really love will help ease anxiety. I’ve noticed this myself. My favorite teas include:

Yogi Lavender and Honey
Twinings Peppermint
Twinings Chamomille
Good Earth Sweet and Spicy
Stash Ginger and Lemon

6. Lights out. Quit using a computer or other screen within an hour or so of bedtime. For me, this works because my body seems to know that when I put the computer away or turn the television off, it’s time to get ready for bed. I also use a fan (if you don’t like a fan and don’t want to buy a sound machine, I’d consider using a sleep app. The background noise you can focus on and it will help you fall asleep.)

7. Deep breaths. Practicing yoga has helped me learn when I’m breathing too shallow, which can stir up anxious feelings. When you learn about deep breathing, and how we do too little of it, you’ll realize just what you’ve been missing. I’ve used this technique from Gabrielle Bernstein many times when feeling anxiety creep it, and it re-centers me and helps me get back on my way.

8. Drink water or eat. It may seem sily, but avoiding a snack or a meal could be causing your anxiety or keeping you from sleeping well (going to bed with a growling stomach is not fun). I’ve heard eating a banana about a half hour before bedtime helps, because of it’s melatonin content. (Melatonin is the chemical our body releases to help us relax and sleep.) In general, if you are starving by the time you get to a meal, you’ll probably notice your anxiety will be up. Try to avoid this by choosing good-for-you snacks, like an apple and a piece of cheddar cheese, and avoid sugary stuff. Sugar is not good for anxiety. And before diving into a snack or meal, try seeing if a glass of water will fill you up. (Sometimes my anxiety will creep in simply because I’m thirsty!)

And that’s it for now. I hope these tips will help you in some way. Remember, everyone will have different tips and tricks that help them in some way. These, in no particular order, are mine.

Peaceful minds and sleep-filled nights to you! (I love how Kris Carr signs off on her newsletters this way.)

Ashley

Leave a Reply

