Small Kitchen Cooking: Learning how to cook

Learning how to cook isn’t difficult, but from the overwhelming amounts of cookbooks, online recipe sites like FoodGawker and AllRecipes, blogs, and good ol’ fashioned cookbooks, it can seem like an overwhelming task to take on. But it isn’t. Or it shouldn’t be. It’s actually very simple: just cook.

After college and while I was unemployed, in between searching sites for job listings, I stumbled across Oh She Glows. It came from the Glamour Vitamin G blog, and it was for apple cupcakes. This involved no cooking, obviously, but it was so different in a such a simple way that I became curious. And so I kept searching. I discovered blog after blog, asked for a cookbook for Christmas, and started trying out different recipes on my two roommates and my sister. (Lesson No.1 I learned: do NOT use fresh spinach in a quiche.)

Anyway, what I’m trying to say here is that cooking isn’t challenging at its core. There are complicated or tiresome recipes such as beouf bourginion (see the movie Julie and Julia and you’ll know what I’m talking about) or souffle (still haven’t tried to attempt that one) but at its core, cooking is simple. And don’t worry about being creative right at first: start simple. Here are some of my tips to get you into your kitchen.

1. Read the recipe before deciding to make it. Too many times I’ve started a recipe and halfway through realized it took an hour of cooking, when I only had a half hour. Or one of the ingredients I could have sworn I had was gone. Cooking is easier when you look over the recipe and go through your kitchen. Take everything out that you’re going to need and place it on your counter. As you use the ingredients, put them back.

2. Sometimes simple is better. Just last week, I had a craving for pasta sauce. I went over to my pantry and thought about what I’d needed. I had tomatoes, oregano, fresh basil, garlic, and olive oil. Toss it all together and it was the best pasta sauce I think I’ve had ( with the exception of my middle sister’s amazing meat pasta sauce.) Do you love pasta and avocado? Then this avocado pasta from Oh She Glows is an incredibly easy dish to make. Pizza Margherita is easy too and gorgeous. (If you’re worried about making the dough, you can buy fresh premade dough.)

3. Don’t be afraid to look it up or call a friend. I can’t ever remember how to boil eggs. Do I put the eggs in with the water before I start to boil it? Every time, I look it up. Something so simple you think I’d remember right? (And I can remember how to make crepes from scratch without looking up the recipe.) Don’t be afraid to look up recipes, techniques, or call a friend. There are great Youtube channels out there such as this one from Tara Stiles and this other one from Fresh Princess. You’ll notice that their recipes are simple and easy to make. (Not to mention that Tara has a cookbook coming out in November that I cannot wait to get my hands on.)

4. Start slow. If you’re just starting out getting comfortable with your kitchen, try cooking at least one meal a week homemade. Find a simple recipe (if it has over 10 ingredients, I’d skip it. Go for the easy recipes, like this 4 ingredient pasta sauce inspired by Mark Bittman’s tomato pasta sauce recipe in his How to Cook Everything cookbook.)

I’ll leave you with those for now.

Leave a Reply

