September Blogging Challenge: A Cause I’m Passionate About

For today’s SBC, I’m going to talk a bit about a cause I’m passionate about: pet adoption and pug rescue.

We all know that the terrible reason animal rescues exist. Every day animals are rescued from horrible living conditions, or are simply abandoned, or brought in needing a new home.

Animal rescue is very important to me, and as a pug owner, I follow a lot of pug rescues. What saddens me the most is that the sad stories I see of pugs coming into the various rescues are just a few of hundreds, thousands, millions of stories from animals all over the world. I see pugs needing surgery simply because their owners didn’t care enough to take care of them. I see stories of people who realized they couldn’t care for their pet and brought them into the rescue for the pug to find a better home.

While following the pug rescues on social media can be disheartening, my heart is always uplifted when I see people come together for a common cause, such as saving Pickles from losing an eye or driving a pug to a new home.

I encourage you to donate to your local animal rescues. If you can’t donate with funds, rescues often need volunteers or goods. If you can’t donate time or goods, follow them on social media and use your social accounts to share the animals’ stories. Spread the word and encourage others to do the same.

Now let’s talk about pet adoption.

Pet adoption is fantastic, but it can be challenging. You need to be extremely patient with adopted pets, especially those who may have not had the best life. It can be hard to understand the animal especially if you don’t know their back story. So remember that if you plan on adopting a rescue animal, remember to be extra patient and kind.

Leave a Reply

