Make Peace With Cracks in Your Routine

Though you can’t completely prevent your routine from getting rocked by different twists and turns, you can learn to still be at peace with them. You might even learn that your routine is old and boring, and the little cracks are making room for new changes. However, there are still times when little cracks can make you frustrated, so here are a few things I’ve learned and try to practice to help keep myself peaceful and calm.

1. Prep the night before.
Put together a to-do list and then put it away. Just because you make a to-do list doesn’t mean you have to get started doing it. I remember someone said that even when your “to do” list looks complete, there will always be more tasks. Don’t worry about it so much. Other than a to do list, consider tidying up a bit, laying out your clothes, packing your bag or meal prepping. By getting those things out of the way, you’re setting yourself up for the morning to go smoothly, or at least, if you’re running late, it can help keep you from feeling too overwhelmed.

2. Create a “To Feel” List. I can’t remember where I got this, but the credit isn’t mine. I remember stumbling across the idea of creating a “to feel” list, such as “I will feel calm. At peace and ease. I will be happy.” Read the list throughout the day. I really like this one.

3. Live in the present moment. Don’t spend all day dreaming of the past weekend or wishing it was Friday. Instead, throw yourself wholeheartedly into whatever you’re doing and do it the best you can, with a positive attitude.

4. Make peace with chaos. This is something I read recently. Chaos is inevitable, and while there are things we can do to prevent it, sometimes, chaos is a part of life. Make peace with it. Understand chaos is inevitable, and see how well you react when chaos occurs.

5. Take a deep breath. I’ve mentioned this before on my blog, but a deep breath is so powerful and can change your entire attitude. A long, slow, calming deep breath can reshape your way of thinking and bring your focus back. Next time you’re letting the “crazy kick in” come out of it by taking three long deep breaths and consider how much better you feel.

6. Meditate and Pray. If you have tons of worries, say a prayer, and then take a minute to sit in a quiet space. This really helps me, and I am learning that meditating really helps me stay focused and trains me to stop multitasking and to take everything a step at a time.

Leave a Reply

