Leftover Thanksgiving Breakfast Bake

I love cooking, but I admit that I’m not very adventurous. I love the idea of cooking with your intuition and just taking a risk once in awhile and creating something without a recipe, but I don’t do it often.

But the day after Thanksgiving while my family decorated the tree, I went into the kitchen and stood in front of the fridge. I eyed all the Thanksgiving leftovers we had and I felt my creative juices starting to flow.

I gathered up the leftover ham and stuffing, followed by some eggs, cheese, green onions, and green bell peppers.

And what I made, with all the doubt I had about it (and kept announcing to my family), was amazing. My father and I ate it over the next couple of days, and it’s a great filling for breakfast burritos. (Make sure to bake them in the oven for an extra-crispy tortilla.)

Leftover Thanksgiving Breakfast Bake
A filling recipe that will leave your family happy and ready to decorate for the holidays. They won’t even know you used Thanksgiving leftovers.

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup to 2 cups leftover stuffing, chopped into cubes
4 green onions, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 cup to 2 cups of leftover ham, chopped into cubes or sliced into strips
10-12 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, Colby jack, or a mix of cheddars

Directions
1. In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Turn on the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Add the stuffing cubes and cook about 5 minutes, until they start to turn golden brown.
3. Add the onions and green bell peppers to the stuffing and cook until tender, about 5 minutes.
4. Add the ham to the stuffing mixture and stir to combine, heat for 1-5 minutes.
5. Turn off skillet and remove from heat.
6. Spoon mixture into a greased oven-safe casserole dish.
7. Pour eggs over the mixture and sprinkle with cheese.
8. Bake in oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.
9. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

