A Cookie Recipe I Thought I’d Lost

Hello everyone and happy Friday to you all!

Today I had a craving for a cookie I’d made about two years ago. I’d been reading one of my favorite blogs, Vitamin G, and came across this post about a vegan banana chocolate-chip cookie recipe. You can find the original recipe here.

I thought I’d saved the recipe in my email. (I didn’t.) I thought had bookmarked it, but I lost my bookmarks awhile back.

I found the blog post I’d found the link to the recipe on. But then, when I clicked on the link to the original recipe I found myself staring at the screen: the link didn’t work. IT WAS GONE.

After frantically searching for another link to the recipe, and eventually finding a link that did work, I realized: I had the recipe, all along, in my “Family Recipe” binder. I compared the recipe card to the recipe online. It was the same, and I was set to go!

I love these cookies.

Straight out of the oven, they’re perfect. They might need a minute or two to set once out of the oven, but you don’t have to wait if you don’t want too.

Straight out of the fridge they’re perfect.

The batter even tastes delicious (and better yet, there’s no raw egg. It’s the cookie dough no one will yell at you for eating raw.)

Here are a few changes I made:

-I used 2/3 cup of brown sugar, like the Vitamin G blogger had mentioned.
-I only had one large banana, so I added about a 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce.
-I used oats instead of oat flour, but used the same amount (2 1/4 cups).
-The batter was a bit too sticky, so I added about a 1/4 cup flour to thicken things up.
-I put the batter in the fridge in between batches. It helped keep the cookies from browning on the edges too quickly.

Other changes I’d make for next time:

– I had larger dark chocolate chips, so I’d scale back on the amount of chocolate.
– Though the cookies tasted fabulous even with the addition of applesauce, I’d rather have the second banana the recipe calls for.
– I’d like to add crunchy peanut butter.

I hope you’re having a great night!

~Ashley

2 thoughts on “A Cookie Recipe I Thought I’d Lost

Leave a Reply

