Pie vs. Cupcake: Trends

Hello everyone! Hope you are all doing well on this lovely Wednesday! I woke up to snow falling this morning– and just last week it was 60-70 degrees.

I am finally back on my normal sleeping/waking schedule: going to bed at 11 and waking up at 7. It felt good to get up early– I took the time to journal, go through my daily dose of blogs and news, and do some reading. I started reading “Where the Heart Is,” by Billie Letts, last night and I am halfway through now. Have you read it or seen the movie, with Natalie Portman? So far, the book is fantastic.

I thought I’d do a fun post today–talking about the latest food trends.

I’ve been reading about pie becoming the new cupcake. The New York Times recently did a piece about restaurants hopping onto the pie bandwagon.

I’m still unconvinced and I think it’s for two reasons 1) Regular size cupcakes (made in a regular size muffin pan) seem to be the perfect serving size for cake, especially for birthdays and other festive parties. You don’t need extra silverware or plates,because napkins do the job just fine, and, 2) pies to me are a autumn/winter/holiday food– starting in September and going through December.

I guess my reasons are more for home baking– cupcakes are much more fun to make because of all the decorating possibilities. 🙂

Are you Team Pie or Team Cupcake?

I’d love to make a batch of vegan cupcakes– I was watching Cupcake Wars on the Food Network over the weekend, and two of the contestants had vegan cupcake bakeries. Have you made vegan cupcakes? Did you love them or hate them?

Have a great Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Pie vs. Cupcake: Trends

Leave a Reply

